Department of Surgery

Faculty Awards

Our faculty have won some of the most prestigous awards in the nation for research and science in the field of surgery.

Albert Lasker Clinical Research Award

The Lasker Awards are among the most respected science prizes in the world. Since 1945, the Awards Program has recognized the contributions of scientists, physicians, and public servants who have made major advances in the understanding, diagnosis, treatment, cure, and prevention of human disease. Lasker Awards often presage future recognition by the Nobel committee, so they have become popularly known as "America's Nobels." Eighty Lasker laureates have received the Nobel Prize, including 28 in the last two decades.

Bernard Fisher, MD (1985)
Thomas E. Starzl, MD, PhD (2012)


American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO), Distinguished Service Award for Scientific Achievement

The ASCO Special Awards are intended to recognize and encourage individuals or organizations that have made significant contributions to ASCO, the practice of clinical oncology, and patients with cancer.

Bernard Fisher, MD (1999)


American Surgical Association Medallion for Scientific Achievement

The Medallion for Scientific Achievement is the highest honor bestowed by the American Surgical Association, which is the oldest and most prestigious surgical society in the country. It is awarded only when a worthy recipient is proposed - not on a yearly basis. The award is given for a long career of important, innovative, and seminal scientific contributions.

Timothy R. Billiar, MD (2015)
Bernard Fisher, MD (2000)
Thomas E. Starzl, MD, PhD (1990)


National Academy of Medicine (formerly the Institute of Medicine)

The NAM is renowned for its research program, but it is also an honorific organization with more than 1,700 members and foreign associates who donate their time to put their knowledge and expertise to work for the nation’s health. Each year, the full membership elects up to 65 new members and five foreign associates to the NAM. Members are elected for their excellence and professional achievement in a field relevant to the NAM's mission and for their willingness to participate actively in its work. These individuals represent not only the health care professions but also the natural, social, and behavioral sciences, as well as law, administration, engineering, and the humanities. For those at the top of their field, membership in the NAM reflects the height of professional achievement and commitment to service.

Timothy R. Billiar, MD (2006)
Bernard Fisher, MD (1985)
Richard L. Simmons, MD (1994)
Thomas E. Starzl, MD, PhD (1999)


National Academy of Sciences (NAS)

The NAS is a private, non-profit society of distinguished scholars charged with providing independent, objective advice to the nation on matters related to science and technology. Scientists are elected by their peers to membership in the NAS for outstanding contributions to research. Membership is a widely accepted mark of excellence in science and is considered one of the highest honors that a scientist can receive. The NAS membership totals approximately 2,250 members and nearly 440 foreign associates, of whom approximately 200 have received Nobel prizes.

Thomas E. Starzl, MD, PhD (2014)


National Medal of Science

The National Medal of Science is an honor bestowed by the President of the United States to individuals in science and engineering who have made important contributions to the advancement of knowledge in behavioral and social sciences, biology, chemistry, engineering, mathematics, and physical sciences.

Thomas E. Starzl, MD, PhD (2004)


Society of University Surgeons Lifetime Achievement Award

The object of the Society of University Surgeons is the advancement of the art and science of surgery by encouraging its members to pursue original clinical and research investigations, developing graduate teaching methods for surgery with particular reference to the resident system, and freely and informally interchanging ideas.

Richard L. Simmons, MD (2010)


Transplantation Society Peter Medawar Prize

The Medawar Prize, named after Society co-founder Sir Peter Medawar,is recognized as the world's highest dedicated award for the most outstanding contributions in the field of transplantation. The Medawar Prize has been awarded to two or more recipients at each of the Society's biennial Congresses since 1990.

Thomas E. Starzl, MD, PhD (1992)
Richard L. Simmons, MD (2004)